O Big Lashes, Wherefore Art Thou?

IMG_1887

‘Tis but thy name that is my enemy.

‘Tis true, ’tis true! The last Covergirl mascara I tried was the Lastblast Length mascara and while that did make my lashes look longer, the color wasn’t as black as I would’ve liked. I did use it until it dried up though but I never looked twice at Covergirl mascaras again.

Until this puppy came along.

It chased me really. I was so intent on not buying anymore Covergirl mascaras after the last one. And I was so tired of being disappointed after trying mascaras out and finding them to be too wet for my short lashes or for mascaras to look so good in the morning but end up making my lashes droop at the end of the day.

But this one! Oooh, this one. I couldn’t go without seeing it at least once. In coupons, in magazines, on TV! So, I caved and bought it on impulse at my local Rite-Aid. With coupon! On my first try, I was pretty disappointed, the formula was kind of wet, it smudged on my upper lid on application, the brush itself was weird. So, I threw it in my bin for eye makeup. I continued to pair my Maybelline Mega Plush with other mascaras I had. At the time, it was three mascaras at once. One to separate, one to bring volume to my lashes, and one to lengthen. But I grew tired. I opened up my makeup drawer, spotted the orange tube, and thought, “Oh, why not.”

This time around I paired it with the Mega Plush mascara and it worked like a charm! My lashes stayed curled all day, no smearing, no smudges. I had volume and it looked like my lashes lengthened, but that may be due to the Mega Plush. It was wonderful. I started using it by itself and it was quite lovely! I still get smudges on my upper lid, but that may be because of my application technique. The formula is not as wet as I remember, so if you’re not a fan of wet formulas let this dry out for bit in your bin/drawer.

The Lashblast Volume really does give me volume to my small, straight lashes. Lengthen, it does not but that’s no big deal for me. My lashes don’t droop at the end of the day; they stay curled. I like this mascara. I don’t love it, but I’d reach for this again.

Price: Around $5-7

Availability: Most drugstores, Rite-Aid, CVS, Walgreens, Target, Walmart, Ulta

FSK Rating: three out of five

Tell me your thoughts!

