Comparison | Maybelline Fit Me Concealer vs Sonia Kashuk Take Cover Concealer Stick

image

 

Well, who would’ve thunk wisdom teeth extractions could take the life outta ya. Not me. Definitely, not me. With the cheeks and all. I’m still healing -________- bad week to get them taken out and heal up.

Good thing I write down all my reviews in a notebook before publishing them all.

First things first, I haven’t been concealing my under eyes for very long. I was a young girl once, free of dark circles and eye bags. Then college came and it just went downhill. Hello, late nights and cups of coffee throughout the day. But like any college student, I improvised.

Lately, I’ve been using my Garnier Skin Renew Dark Circle roller and that’s been good for concealing them bad circles up but I have a wandering eye when it comes to makeup products. I can’t just have one.

In comes, Maybelline. I wasn’t too hot on their Fit Me liquid foundation – anything without a pump is pretty much a mess. But I picked up their Fit Me concealer and I have to say, this stuff is the business.

MaybFM5MaybFM4MaybFM3

 

Let me give you the low down:

  • concealer comes in 6 colors (#’s 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35)
  • It has a doe foot applicator
  • very creamy and lightweight
  • has a faint scent
  • contains 0.23 oz of product

As for under eye concealing, I like this very much. It conceals well and doesn’t crease when used underneath my Garnier Skin Renew or alone. I wouldn’t set this because I did notice some creasing when used with a setting powder. The smell, isn’t all that bad but it might be the breaking point for some who are sensitive to scents.

A lot of product comes out from the doe foot applicator, so I suggest swiping it on your hand first instead of applying directly from the applicator. A little goes a long way with this product. It’s super creamy. I don’t have to blend very much with this product and it’s lightweight. All in all, I really, really like this product – to the point of picking it up whenever I do my face makeup. That’s love.

I picked this up at Walmart for around 5.94 in the shade 25 (medium), so the price doesn’t hurt my wallet. High-freaking-five.

MaybFM6MaybFM2

 

Oh, but my eye does wander quite far. I picked up this lovely thing at Target for around 7.99 Β with no expectations at all.

SK4SK3SK5

 

Sonia Kashuk’s Take Cover Concealer Stick is nothing like Maybelline Fit Me concealer. In terms of texture, in terms of price, in terms of concealing. They just don’t come even close.

So, here’s what’s up:

  • only comes in 3 shades (Dawn, Daylight, Dusk)
  • comes in stick form (as seen, yo)
  • texture feels very dry and thick – if that makes any sense
  • has a faint scent
  • contains 0.07 oz of product

I must tell you, Take Cover does come with a warning. It’s not intended for use near eyes or mouth. Let’s rebel, anyway.

I first applied this straight from the tube and it felt like there was a drag. It doesn’t feel lightweight like the Maybelline concealer does nor does it feel creamy. It feels thick, but that’s not the same as creamy. So, I need to work on blending this out more than I do the Maybelline concealer. That being said, it blends really well, so not much work.

Underneath my Garnier Skin Renew it creases very little but when used with a setting powder, it creases a lot. That warning was given for good reason. This would probably work best for blemishes. I haven’t had anything happen to my under eye area, but I wouldn’t put this on again to find out.

SK7SK6

 

I’ve used this for cleaning up my brows when I do them and it does an okay job. Again, blemishes preferably. I have to say, I was a little disappointed with this product. It being Sonia Kashuk and all – I really enjoy her brushes, so I thought I’d like her cosmetics too but in this post, that’s not the case. For $7.99 and three shades (I have Dusk, the darkest shade), I’d pass this up.

So this Concealer Battle goes to Maybelline Fit Me Concealer. Thanks Maybelline – for making me look like I was born with naturally perfect under eyes.

3 thoughts on “Comparison | Maybelline Fit Me Concealer vs Sonia Kashuk Take Cover Concealer Stick

  1. Pingback: My Concealer (and mini) Makeup Routine! – fishscalekisses

  2. Good blog! I really love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I could be notified when a new post has been made.
    I have subscribed to your RSS which must do the trick!
    Have a nice day!

Tell me your thoughts!

