Pond’s Luminous BB+ Cream | Review

20130805-162846.jpg

My experience with BB creams has been a very trying journey. Some work, some I won’t touch, and others…well, I haven’t tried them yet.

Guise, I have a confession.

I-I’m a BB cream virgin! TT________TT An Asian BB Cream virgin, that is. I know! *slaps wrist* Bad, me! I live in an area where Asian cosmetics is pretty much within reach, so why haven’t I picked up any?

I’ll tell ya, why. Too danged expensive for my cheap @ass. That’s the only legitimate excuse I can give – other than color matching, but there are more BB creams out there.

So now you know my secret. I hope you still love me.

This BB cream, is a step above Western BB creams in my opinion. From what I’ve heard, most Western BB creams are more like tinted moisturizers. I could care less for a tinted moisturizer falsely labeled as a BB cream. The point of a BB cream is to be an all-in-one product.

20130805-162747.jpg20130805-162714.jpg

I’ve tried BB creams in store while I was out of the country or stalking the beauty aisles of my Asian grocery stores and this BB cream isn’t as thick as a traditional Asian BB cream.

20130805-163049.jpg

I feel this BB cream gives light to medium coverage. It doesn’t cover some of my broken capillaries on my face but it does a good job of concealing/going over my pores. I do wear this with a primer and setting powder, occasionally I’ll spritz a little Urban Decay De-Slick setting spray, but I’d never go out with this alone on my face.

I tried that once – I was an oil slick mess. My pores looked huge too! so, for oiler gals, I’d recommend going all the way with this one.

20130805-163442.jpg20130805-163543.jpg

This BB cream comes in a somewhat reflective packaging. It’s pretty and the nose is pretty good too. Control is totally dependent on you but I wouldn’t squeeze any larger than a nickel. It feels very light going on the face, but my face does feel a little tacky, if you know what I mean. It’s not sticky, but I can feel the foundation with my fingers.

As for oil control, this has none. I can feel the oil on my nose once I’m three hours into wearing this. This also has a faint scent – something like, lotion. Must be the SPF, methinks. As for the claims on the side of the box, I see the luminous finish (+) but I haven’t used it long enough to see any dark spot fading – I don’t even have dark spots on my face so, I can’t attest to that. I’ve experienced no break outs using this BB cream and that’s always a plus in my book.

Overall, I enjoy using this product. I’ve used it for my first week of school and it performed very well, despite the oilies I got. And I do pick this every now and again when I go out or when I have the time for a full face routine in the morning.

Availability: So far, I’ve only seen it at Target and Walmart but I would try CVS, Walgreens, or Rite-Aid
Price: I bought mine at Target for $9.99, but other drugstores will have them for much higher. I recommend waiting for coupons in the paper or online.
FSK Rating: 4 out of 5

Tell me your thoughts!

