Initial Thoughts: Flower Cosmetics Velvet Lip Color in Tender Tuberose

20130925-222530.jpg

This color takes me back. All the back, when I first started makeup.

Once upon a time, a girl wore a certain shade. A shade that wasn’t too red, wasn’t too pink, it was just right in the middle. She would wear that color down, honey. Different brand, same shade.

But as she grew, so did her tastes. One day she bought a classic red lipstick and her lipstick game was changed forever. From reds, to pinks, to purples, browns, nudes, – heck, she got an orange lipstick somewhere in there.

And here we are, back to the beginning.

Tender Tuberose reminds me a lot like the lip colors I used to wear (I wear them only on occasion). The color is super opaque and pigmented. Quite the change from the light/sheer lip colors I’ve picked up recently.

My only qualm about this lip color is that it can be a little drying. I read this formula contains eucalyptus oil and it doesn’t seem to do much for moisturizing. Even with my semi-chapped post cold lips, this lipstick seems to make my lips feel even more chapped.

This lipstick doesn’t last through food. Drinks, probably if you’re gonna sip through a straw.

I tried comparing Tender Tuberose to other lip colors in my collection and here’s what I’ve got close to it.

20130926-152927.jpg

From top to bottom: Flower Cosmetics Tender Tuberose, Wet n Wild Mega Last Lipstick in Wine Room, Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Lip Stain in Honey, ELF Matte Lip Color in Tea Rose, Sonia Kashuk Satin Luxe Lipstick in Violetta, and Wet n Wild Mega Last Lipstick in Ravin’ Raisin (916D).

I think Violetta is a little close to Tender Tuberose. Wine Room is much more pinker than TT. Everything else wasn’t a match.

I’m still pleased with this lip color. I’d wear a lip balm under it or make sure my lips are super moisturized before putting this on.

Tell me your thoughts!

