Initial Thoughts: NYC HD Color Trio in Long Beach Sands

20131223-070337.jpg

Hello and good morning! Here are some of thoughts while I tested out this product.

The NYC HD Color Trio eyeshadows comes in a standard trio pan. There’s a plastic covering when you open it – I thought that was pretty nifty, along with one foam applicator.

This eyeshadow trio isn’t half bad. The middle color (the lid color) is fairly pigmented, as is the crease color (the last color). However, that’s all that this trio seems to have – fair pigmentation. This trio didn’t seem to show up at all when I used it with Wet n Wild’s Take On The Day eyeshadow primer. I tried it with Maybelline’s Color Tattoo in Nude Pink (LE), they showed up a little. I mean, in comparison to WnW, they showed up a lot.

The shadows are shimmery, especially the highlight color. I could have gone for some matte shades. When applied heavily, oh dear, the eyelids may as well be a discoball. The highlight shade was troublesome for me. It felt a but chalky and powdery. The other two shadows felt smooth but also powdery. I don’t think I’ll reach for this often. Shimmery eyeshadow isn’t my thing and it isn’t very pigmented.

Overall, I didn’t exactly enjoy this product but I’m keeping because I could still use the shadows with other eyeshadows in my collection. If I saw this in the drugstore, I’d pass it up.

This trio can be found at most drugstores.

**This product was given to me from Influenster for testing purposes.

Tell me your thoughts!

