At First Swatch: Sonia Kashuk Limited Edition Matte Red Lipstick

20140103-223113.jpg
*Purchased

Happy New Year! Goodness, 2013 went by so quick.

I hope you all had a very merry holiday. I didn’t have much on my wish list, other than a sweet vanity and drawer (which I did receive!). I didn’t do much on NYE, just relaxing at home. January is my birthday month, so you know I’ll be haulin’ it on my birthday!

But on to more interesting things. I received this lipstick courtesy of my brother from Target ($10.99). I don’t know how much longer this will be on the shelves, the last time I saw it was around December, but there was plenty in stock!

This color is such a wonderful shade of red. It’s very neutral, though I think it leans a little on the cool side. I don’t have anything similar to this color in my collection, so I’m quite pleased. The texture is very different from SK’s Satin Luxe line. It’s matte, of course, so no glossiness. I wish she would make a matte line, I have yet to try out her lip crayons. My Target never seems to stock up!

20140103-223817.jpg20140103-223856.jpg

Like the Satin Luxe line, this lipstick is engraved with Sonia Kashuk’s initials. The packaging is very nice, feels and looks very luxe. In comparison to her Satin Luxe packaging, the tube is a little bit taller. There isn’t much of a scent to it.

The lipstick swatches very nicely and smoothly. I didn’t see any patchy areas when I applied it to my lips. The wear time isn’t that bad. It seems to wear off evenly and leave a little stain but I would suggest using a lip liner with this lipstick. It can be a little drying but a little lip balm under that will fix it. The color is super opaque. There is some transfer, but I wouldn’t expect anything different from a lipstick.

20140103-224602.jpg20140103-224617.jpg

xo,
Lorraine

Tell me your thoughts!

