At First Swatch + Review: L’Oreal Voluminous Butterfly Mascara (Waterproof)

*Purchased

Before I begin this, I just want to apologize in advance. We’ll be entering a pore terrain and soon flying into turbulent (h)airs. /badjoke, I know.

I like you guys enough to show close ups of my face.

20140130-170522.jpg

Oh, tiny lashes. Why must you be stick straight? Why must you be do fickle? Nay, you say to wet formulas. Nay, you say non-waterproof formulas. Have you no morsel of sympathy for my needs? Of long, voluminous lashes? Of lashes that will stay curled all day?

I’ve been reading The Other Boleyn Girl lately. And it seems Anne was the prettier of the two sisters but I’m sure Mary was beautiful in her own sense. Perhaps with long, butterfly-like lashes that fluttered every time she blinked. OMG, could you imagine? Wind blowing every time you blinked… Hilarious.

Anyway, I recently purchased this mascara from Target – mainly on a whim as my other mascaras in my possession weren’t giving me what I wanted. I had a coupon too, so, that helped with this purchase. Tell me if I’m wrong, but between Revlon and L’Oreal, the latter seems to be the most expensive between the two. Even the Revlon Skinlights aren’t as expensive as the new L’Oreal True Match powder and (I’m guessing) they’re both reformulations of old (and loved) products. /ramble.

I was in a hurry to try this. The last L’Oreal mascara didn’t work too well with my lashes, but this was a very pleasant surprise.

20140202-102017.jpg

Do I see a little lift?! Why, yes, I do 🙂

Granted, it’s nothing voluminous and absolutely nothing like false eyelashes. I still like this product. I’ve been using this for, about a week and half and I have to say, this product does good.

It may be the waterproof formula, but my curl stays all day (at times, I may have a 12 hour day of wearing makeup -> too lazy to take it off once I’m home). I saw no flaking when I wore this, even when I laughed to tears. This formula is suuuuuuuuuuper dry. Ideal, in my opinion, for short lashes.

Now, it may just be me and my methods, but this was a little difficult to take off. I mainly use a makeup wipe, but 1-2 lashes came off when I rubbed my makeup wipe on my eyes. The horror, I know. I switched to placing a cotton pad soaked in makeup remover and that works just fine. Also, note: if you’re expecting a ton of mascara to come off, there won’t be. Maybe the dry formula doesn’t permit a lot of product to be transferred onto the lashes in one swipe, but…that’s just how it is.

On to the wand -> it’s something different, I’ll tell you that.

20140205-210727.jpg

Also, caution: I pricked myself while using this on my eyelid. Please be careful! I’m clumsy, but gosh…

I like the brush. I’m not a big fan of traditional mascara bristles, I do prefer the plastic bristles. There’s also the other end the bristles which are shorter, and I tend to use those for ‘volumizing’. It’s nothing fantabulous, but that’s not a complaint.

I absolutely love this mascara. It’s been my go to ever since I purchased it (in…January!). I have to admit, I was a little skeptical since L’Oreal mascaras and I don’t have a good relationship. But this has changed my mind.

This mascara is available in all drugstores, with varying prices. Again, since L’Oreal seems to be one of the more expensive drugstore brands, coupon when you can!

xo,
Lorraine

Tell me your thoughts!

