At First Swatch: L’Oreal Telescopic Shocking Extensions Mascara + Mini Review

20140630-205720-75440911.jpg

How cute is this mascara, shaped like a telescope! Clever, L’Oreal, very clever!

Technically, this post isn’t a first swatch since I have been using this mascara for a couple of weeks now. If you’ve been following my Instagram (@fishscalekisses), you’d see I’ve been using this almost daily.

With that being said – I love this stuff. Two reasons why I bought it: 1) My L’Oreal Butterfly Effects mascara was drying out and, 2) I wanted a dupe for the YSL Babydoll mascara.

A few words on the Babydoll mascara – I loved it. I had a sample of it. And I used it. I shouldn’t have because I fell so hard for it. But 30+ bucks for a mascara?? No, thanks. I no longer have the tube, so I can’t compare but, I’ve read some reviews and others have basically said they’re similar. <— and that's enough for me.

20140630-210415-75855795.jpg

I really like the wand on this mascara. My lashes are pretty short and they stick out straight, if they aren’t curled. The wand makes it possible for every lash to be coated, evenly. Me likes. This mascara doesn’t give much volume but it definitely lengthens. The formula is pretty dry, it doesn’t weigh my lashes down when I apply it. For the most part, it doesn’t smudge or flake either.

If memory serves me correctly, I do believe the YSL performed same.

The only thing that I don’t like, and this also goes for the Butterfly Effects mascara, is that something would get in my eye and irritate the crap out of it. I would tear up and rinse my eyes but nothing. It wouldn’t stop being irritated unless I washed my mascara off (with an eye makeup remover or cleansing oil). So, that’s one thing. I do remember a similar experience with Maybelline’s The Rocket mascara as well.

But overall, I do enjoy using this mascara. It gives great length for short lashed gals and the waterproof holds a really good curl through the day (8+ hours). For the price, eh~ it’s L’Oreal. It’ll range from 7.99 to 8.99 USD. I highly suggest sales and coupons with any drugstore purchase.

Before, without:
20140630-211037-76237635.jpg

After, with 1 coat in Blackest Black:
20140630-211108-76268307.jpg

Thanks for reading!

xo,
Lorraine

4 thoughts on “At First Swatch: L’Oreal Telescopic Shocking Extensions Mascara + Mini Review

  1. Love love love this mascara! It does such an awesome job of separating and lengthening! L’oreal Voluminous mascara is a great one to. I find L’oreal just makes good ones! I have yet to try the Butterfly one, looks interesting. Great post!!

    1. I loved the Butterfly mascara! I made a previous post about it if you haven’t seen it already. I really liked the double-sided brush. I hope you find it soon!

  2. Pingback: At First Swatch: Touch In Sol Paper Pusher – fishscalekisses

Tell me your thoughts!

