Hair Growth Diary Vol VI

Excuse me if I seem a little distracted during this post. I’m watching the Germany/Brazil semi-final and Brazil is having their ass handed to them in this first half.

I take back anything bad I said about Neymar. They obviously suck without him.

But, back to the topic at hand. I’m back with a hair growth update for June! I’m happy to report that my hair has grown since May. My hair routine hasn’t changed since last update. I have changed a liiiiittle in application-wise, but other than that, nothing else.

So, just a recap. I still wash my hair every other night.

Obligatory progress pics!

20140708-134441-49481036.jpg
My hair is normally straight. These luscious waves are due to my hair being in a high ponytail ^-^

20140708-134441-49481588.jpg
Side view; also a note: My hair is virgin. Never been dyed, never had highlights. All these shades you see in my hair are natural.

20140708-134441-49481332.jpg
I can finally put my hair in a high ponytail with little to no bobby pins! Baby hairs are a different story (as seen near my forehead). A high bun (the samurai bun) is a little harder to accomplish since I need more bobby pins than I would like to use. But progress is progress!

As for my hair care, I’ve been using these pretties. The Suave Professionals Natural Infusion with Awapuhi Ginger and Honeysuckle, shampoo, conditioner, and leave-in conditioner have been giving my hair life!

20140708-134853-49733774.jpg

I had previously received a sample of these products (courtesy of Suave). I loved how they worked on my hair, I decided to buy the full sizes. And they aren’t too expensive to boot! From Walmart, the shampoo and conditioner are around $2.88 USD and the leave in treatment is around $4-5USD.

As I mentioned previously, I still wash my hair every other day. Fallout is a lot less than when I first complained of fallout but I still get fallout. Mainly on hair washing day. I comb every day but hair washing day tends to produce the most fallout. I don’t know if that’s normal, but I’ll roll with it.

The only change this month is I’ve been doing the Reverse Shampoo method. If you’ve never heard of it, all you do, is wash with conditioner first, then shampoo.

So, I start with the conditioner.
20140708-135629-50189682.jpg

It’s fairly light and doesn’t make my hair feel too heavy. I apply this all over my scalp but mainly concentrate the product on my ends and rinse. I usually wait a couple minutes, wash my face, wash my body, before I rinse out the conditioner.

Then, I go back in with the shampoo.
20140708-135822-50302425.jpg

Any heaviness I felt on my scalp when I applied the conditioner, is lifted when I use this product. I concentrate the shampoo on my scalp, comb through with my fingers, and rinse. I don’t wait like I usually do with the conditioner.

Afterwards, when my shower is done and my hair is a little damp (usually before I go to bed), I apply the leave-in conditioner.
20140708-140015-50415556.jpg

I have to say: I love this stuff. Even on days when my hair isn’t damp, I use this when my hair feels heavy or really foofy (you know that feeling). On hair washing day, in the morning my hair will feel so light and soft and clean. It’s wonderful, really. And if my hair is feeling foofy, I’ll apply this and once it’s dried and absorbed into my hair, it’ll feel so good.

I don’t know if I’ve found my HG hair care products ( the OGX Biotin and Collagen s/c is still my number one) but these are really close.

I’ve been really loving my hair lately. I haven’t seen too many split ends either. But I’ve been thinking about getting a little trim and getting my bangs cut. The decision is still up in the air so, we’ll see.

Thanks for reading! What’s your hair care routine?

xo,
Lorraine

Tell me your thoughts!

