The Haul That Ended My Hauling… mini reviews + swatches

…or so I thought. ^^;;

kiko3
Bouncy Blush in Velvety Peach, Intensely Lavish Lipstick in Pretty Mauve, Smart Lip Liner in Rosewood, Colour Definition Eyeliner and Kajal in Darling Butter, Intensely Lavish Lipliner in Melodious Wine

About a week ago (according to IG), I posted a picture showing my Kiko Cosmetics haul. This is my first time I’ve tried anything from Kiko and I am pleased. The Rebel Romantic limited edition collection is absolutely gorgeous! I wish they have a physical store in San Diego, but alas, none exists. As far as I know there’s one supposedly going to open up in Los Angeles. But I digress (as I often do on this blog. I just get so excited about makeup).

It’s a study break right now and I want to pop this blog post out before I head back to my powerpoints and lecture recordings.

I wish I ordered the whole collection...
I wish I ordered the whole collection…

Can I just say, the packaging is absolutely everything. I ordered four items from their Rebel Romantic collection and one lipliner from their permanent line.

  • Rebel Bouncy Blush (satin) in Velvety Peach
  • Colour Definition Eyeliner and Kajal (matte) in Darling Butter
  • Intensely Lavish Lipstick (cream) in Pretty Mauve
  • Intensely Lavish Lip Pencil (cream) in Melodious Wine
  • Smart Lip Pencil in Rosewood (not pictured)

I haven’t had a chance to play around with most of these (my days include quick and easy makeup with my extra time dedicated to perfecting my eyeliner), but I can speak for Darling Butter and Velvety Peach.

I initially didn’t intend to purchase anything for my eyes as eyeliner and I have had issues in the past (oily lids, nothing stays on my waterline, watery eyes…) but this liner has the biggest potential to become HG status. This liner has lasted me for about 8 hours with very little fading. Not even the Rimmel Kajal liner does that for me! Miracle liner?! Maybe… My liner savior, most definitely!

The texture of the Rebel Bouncy Blush is reminiscent of the Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blushes I’ve seen while back. I haven’t tried those out personally, unfortunately, so I can’t give a complete comparison. But this was seriously love at first swatch. I will have swatches later in this post and just a heads up, the blush swatch is two swipes. I think that’s perfect because you can never go heavy handed with a blush that applies lightly. I find that fingers apply the blush (which is very soft in texture) more opaquely than a dense brush, but I prefer the brush application than the fingers. I like that soft, natural blush/glow on the cheeks and this shade delivers just that. Wear time is okay. I have oily cheeks so if I wear my makeup for more than…10 hours, it’s definitely faded by then. A good primer/base + setting the blush with a powder blush should prolong its wear time.

Closeups of the Rebel Romantic collection
Closeups of the Rebel Romantic collection

As far as scent goes, no scents detected! I was a little disappointed. I like scents in my cosmetics – gives them character. I should mention, the eyeliner is the twist up kind while the lip liner is not.

Swatchy-swatches + that janky swatch of Velvety Peach
Swatchy-swatches + that janky swatch of Velvety Peach

All swatches were taken with natural lighting, indoors. My skin tone around this time of the year is NC35 to mayyyybe even NC40? I’ve never gotten matched before in my life. Please refer to My Shade References page to determine for yourself. Lip swatches to follow once I get an actual break from school =_____=.

As always, thanks for reading!

xx,

Lorraine

Tell me your thoughts!

