Pony x Memebox Shine Easy Glam Eyeshadow Palette

20151222_151909.jpg

I’m trying to take my mind off being almost-sick right now. I’m sneezing, coughing, and sniffling and… I just need to forget that I’m feeling under the weather. So, here’s a little review. *grabs tissue box*

I purchased the Pony x Memebox Shine Easy Glam Eyeshadow Palette (phew) from Memebox during their Black Friday sale. At the time, it was a ‘surprise’ sale and I thought, “Well, if it’s being sold as a surprise, I guess I need it…” So I ordered it. Shipping from Memebox was pretty fast considering their US HQ is in San Francisco. I live in San Diego. How Colourpop packages comes later than Memebox packages confuse me but as long as they get to me…I’m good.

Pony, as far as I know, is a beauty guru person from Korea. She has a youtube channel, and that’s pretty much all I know. She’s also CL’s (music artist/2NE1) makeup artist. Anyway, onto the makeup.

In terms of Korean eye makeup, my knowledge goes as far as aegyo sal and light pigmentation. This is the first time I’m dabbling in eyeshadow so I pretty much didn’t know what to expect when I ordered this. Now that I’ve had some time to play around with this palette and get a feel for how to work the shades for my skintone; let me tell you my thoughts.

20151222_152555.jpg

The shades are super pretty. Mattes and shimmery shades together are my favorite combos. I love me some mattes but I also love the pop of sheen on the eyelid. There are 8 shades as you can see. The palette does come with a plastic covering over the shadows that have their names on the corresponding shade. The palette itself is not a magnetic or snap closure. It just closes. It’s fine for me, I don’t mind. But some people may not appreciate a satisfying snap when the palette closes. I also wish the shade names were printed under the shades, but I can keep the plastic thing on there. I also intend to keep the film on the mirror because these shadows are pow-der-y.

swatch 1.jpg

These are the shimmery shades – all swatched once. Take what you will from my swatches. I personally don’t care for these shimmery shades aside from Shine Gold and Shine Rosegold. Pigmentation on the eyelid is not that great but it’s buildable. Using a damp brush with the shadows doesn’t help as much. So, it’s best to just build up the color as you do your makeup.

Shine Gold is easily the shade that gives off the most pigmentation and while Shine Rosegold is really, really light, it’s also an easy shade to add on top of a matte shade to give it a sheen. Or it can be placed over bare (or primed) skin to bright light into the eye.

Glam Cocoa and Glam Espresso are pretty meh to me. They look pretty but again, you have to build up the color in order to get good opacity.

swatch 2.jpg

Here are the mattes – I’m pretty sure I built up the colors on these swatches, so these are as not pigmented as the shimmery shades. I’m not too fond of these matte shades, particularly Easy Shadow. That shade just disappears on to the my skin until I build it up and it looks like I haven’t even blended anything. The matte shades, however, are easily mixable (as I often do with this palette) and they blend away fairly well. I can’t see Easy Brown or Easy Shadow showing up on darker skin tones. So, if you’re darker than me or darker than Easy Brown, it’ll be tough getting these shades to show up on your skin.

Overall, I’m a little disappointed in this palette. I had hoped for better pigmentation. I like my base makeup to be natural but I want my eyes to stand out. This palette doesn’t make it easy for me to do that (unless I build upon the pigmentation). But seeing as this is my first time using Korean eye makeup, I know better for next time. If you’re interested in this palette, this is still available on Memebox’s website and retails for $30USD.

xx

Lorraine

4 thoughts on “Pony x Memebox Shine Easy Glam Eyeshadow Palette

    1. I’ve used an eye primer (UDPP) and it enhances the pigmentation just a little bit. But the shades are so pretty – I don’t mind. I think the pigmentation might be better if the eye primer was like, a cream shadow in a similar color.

Tell me your thoughts!

