My Concealer (and mini) Makeup Routine!

I am a simple girl when it comes to my makeup. I blog about makeup but I never really mentioned how I do my makeup. So, here it goes.

I tend to not use a lot of products in my makeup routine. I really try to pare it down so I’m not rushing out the door in the mornings. If I have more time than usual in the mornings, then yes, I do include some extra steps. The makeup I do in the mornings is extremely simple. I intern at a research office and volunteer at a hospital, so I really don’t intend on walking around with a daytime smokey eye and hot red lip.

Here’s what my face looks like after doing my morning skincare.

20160625_120828

I filled in my brows and applied some mascara. I also applied some of Tarte’s Clean Slate Smoothing Primer on my nose and cheeks (where my pores are most visible).

Here are shots of my left and right cheek. As you can see, I had a breakout on my left cheek from a skincare product. I suffer from uneven skintone and my habit of picking at my skin (especially when I have a breakout)  doesn’t help my skin either. These are basically the two concealers I use pretty much everyday on my face.

20160625_145035

To cover up my imperfections, I use The Saem Cover Perfection Tip Concealer in the Shade 02.

This concealer is high cov-er-age! I love this concealer for covering up blemishes and other discolorations because of its pigmentation. To conceal my blemishes, I literally dot the concealer right next to the blemish and go in with a fluffy brush to cover it up. The exact brush I use is the ELF Flawless Concealer brush. It’s one of my favorite brushes from  ELF. I find that this concealer sets and doesn’t budge, quickly, so I work fast to cover up all that needs to be hidden. One major gripe I have with this concealer is the packaging – it leaks! I wish it didn’t because I love the coverage 😦

To conceal my under eyes, I use the Dear Klairs Creamy and Natural Fit Concealer. Unfortunately, there’s only one shade. I like using this on my undereyes because it brightens up the area (due to it being only 1 shade and it’s lighter than The Saem concealer). However, my eyes do feel dry at the end of the day, so I tend to use an eye cream when I use this. I use the same brush that I blended out The Saem concealer with to cover up my undereyes. This concealer doesn’t set as fast as The Saem concealer.

20160625_122215

And here’s my face after applying my Laneige BB cushion (shade medium *the shade looks pretty light but in the sunlight, this matches me really well*), Bourjois powder, ELF mineral bronzer, and Wet n Wild blush. This is basically my everyday makeup. I also wear some lip products on the days I intern. If I had more time in the morning, I would apply eyeliner and/or eyeshadow. If you couldn’t tell, I prefer to have a more natural look to my makeup. I don’t like to cake up my face by using an excess amount of the product (ex: the triangle concealer method). I also don’t contour because I can’t for the life of me.

Some extra special shoutouts to the NARS Creamy Concealer (I used the shade Custard). That was my go-to before I ran out of it. I loved it for concealing my blemishes and my undereyes. However, that concealer would crease a little under my eyes – just as any concealer would since I tend to crease there the most.

Another special shoutout goes to the AprilSkin Pink Cushion. Which is this thing right here.

20160625_144931

This is color-correcting cushion in the purple shade. If I’m using a foundation that looks a little orange-y, shadewise, I’ll apply this cushion underneath. It doesn’t change the shade of the foundation, but it just makes it look a little brighter…if that makes sense. A review of this product is coming up soon!

If you’re interested in other concealer posts check out some throwback posts I did when this blog was just a baby (Maybelline v Sonia Kashuk and my gateway drug to Korean cosmetics – Skinfood Salmon Dark Circle Concealer).

For an overview of a range of concealers definitely check out this post from Into the Gloss about Concealers. Their informative post goes over concealers that are best for each skin type, skin concern, blendability, etc! Definitely worth checking out 🙂

Thanks for reading!

xx,

Lorraine

Tell me your thoughts!

