L’Oreal Voluminous Primer + Mascara Review

Disclaimer: These items were sent to me for free to review by Influenster. I am not being compensated for this review.

20160716_140438

I’ve been trying out these two together because 1) my lashes are short and sad and 2) THEY’RE SHORT AND SAD. I’ve actually watched videos about the primer and the ladies who I’ve seen apply it have longer lashes than mine. Because my lashes are short and don’t hold a curl very well, I usually go for waterproof mascara since I know my lashes will stay curled. The Voluminous Original mascara that came in the box is non-waterproof, so, I worked with what I got.

20160805_110321

Here’s my lashes, they stick out straight and are short as you can see. What I really like in a mascara is something that will 1) hold my curl 2) lengthen and volumize 3) not smudge/flake because I have watery eyes. I also look for mascaras that will give mea really natural lash. I don’t like spidery, clumpy lashes

20160805_110957

Here are my lashes with 1 coat of the primer and 1 coat of the Voluminous mascara. If you have lashes like mine, this step is super important! You can make this mascara and primer work for you if you scrape off the excess before applying both products to your lashes!

I’ve applied both the primer and the mascara without scraping off the excess and it weighed my lashes down and basically made them look nonexistent. By scraping the wand before application, I find that I get lashes like in the picture above. Also, side note: I don’t do wait times. Most of the time, I’ll apply the mascara right after applying the primer and I still get the same effect.

With the mascara, I get a full 12 hour wear, however, there is smudging and my eyes do feel irritated by then. The mascara isn’t super hard to remove – it comes off fine with the Garnier Micellar Water (I use the blue capped bottle).

I do like the primer and mascara, however, I wish there wasn’t so much product on the brush. I would also get the mascara in the waterproof version.

20160716_140511

The brushes are basically the same, as well as the tube and the packaging. Overall, I think the primer is okay. I can get the same effect with my lashes using a water proof mascara. The previous one I used was the Covergirl LashBloom mascara and that gave me the same lashes as pictured in this post. With the added step of scraping off the excess, I don’t think I will be purchasing this primer once this tube is dry/old. If the Voluminous Original mascara worked for you, then this primer should work for you as well. For my short, straight lashes, unfortunately, it’s just too much work for me to do in the mornings.

Hope you enjoyed my review!

xx,

Lorraine

 

 

Tell me your thoughts!

